Film Review: How Green Was My Valley (1941)

I love those moments where having never intended to watch a movie, you get sucked in by accident. Flipping through the channels one night with my mother, this film was the only thing on. She’d seen it, I hadn’t.

Directed by the infamous John Ford and based off a 1939 novel by the same name, this film paints the tale of a coal mining Welsh family, the Morgans, during the turn of the century. Their struggles are told in retrospect  through the eyes of the Morgans youngest son, Huw.

It could be thought of as a “coming of age” story in a way, watching Huw go through dramatic changes in his life and the way it matures him. But it’s main focus is on that of the family, and how they can pull together or completely fall apart through different circumstances. There are many sub-plots that give you an idea of who these people are and what they strive for.

Over all, I’d say it’s a character-driven piece, one of my personal favorites. One of the many reasons I love classic film is because of their focus on people, not incidences. Though so many powerful, heart-breaking and sometimes humorous things happen to these people, you’re more interested in how they deal with it on a personal level and not the out-come of the actual situation.

I was entranced from the very moment the movie began, pulled in with its tides. It’s imagery is striking; dark and gritty when it needs to be and light and beautiful when it also calls for it. The only warning I’d give is that it’s definitely a tearjerker and something that will send you on an emotional roller coaster.

Published in: on February 11, 2010 at 2:32 AM  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bygonefilms.wordpress.com/2010/02/11/film-review-how-green-was-my-valley-1941/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I’ve been watching quite a few 40s movies recently, and this (along with Back to Bataan, Sullivan’s Travels, and His Girl Friday) is easily one of the best of the decade.

    I must say you hit the nail on the head. It’s become one of my favorite films. Great acting, great story, great directing, great cinematography. I wholeheartedly agree.


Leave a comment