Classic Movie Musicals Part 1.

I’ve wanted to do a post like this for awhile now, even before I had this blog. Though my taste has branched out as I’ve grown, movie musicals is what first got me interested in classic film. I was introduced to them as a child by way of films like Bedknobs and Broomsticks and The Sound of Music. I believe this love was cemented for me in middle school when I saw My Fair Lady.

Since then I’ve tried to see as many as I could over the years. Though I enjoy the earliest movie musicals from the 1930s, to the most recent ones, my all-time favorites are the colorful spectacles from the 1950’s and early 60’s. However, on this on-going list of my favorite musical scenes, you’ll see films from every decade.

Lets get started :)

We’ll start off with a bang with this number from The Band Wagon starring Fred Astaire and Cyd Charisse. I should get it out now that I totally adore and envy Cyd Charisse. She’s honestly one of the most beautiful, charismatic and talented women I’ve ever seen. Watching her dance is entrancing, and even Fred Astaire said “Once you dance with Cyd, you stay danced with.”

Some people will argue that this was the greatest movie musical to come out of this era, even rivaling Singin’ In The Rain. I think this scene sums up why.

Since I got on the subject of it, we’ll move right into it. Really, with a movie like Singin’ In The Rain, every single musical number is amazing. This is a movie I have to watch every  time it comes on, even if I didn’t plan on it. I never get sick of watching Gene Kelly, especially in this film. I picked his most iconic performance because I don’t know a soul who doesn’t smile when they see this. We’ll surely see more Gene and more Singin’ In The Rain on the list later on.

You simply cannot have a movie musical list without Judy Garland. Meet Me In Saint Louis is an endearing movie, and this is about the catchiest song I’ve heard.

Though a self-proclaimed classic and musical movie lover, I had not seen Fiddler On The Roof until recently. As the most recent movie on the list, it definitely has a different style not only for that, but because of the overall influence that the story has on the music. I love this song and this scene because of the way it’s set up; just your average Jewish countryman on his simple farm, who just so happens to have an amazingly booming voice.

More to come!

Published in: on February 22, 2010 at 2:59 AM  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bygonefilms.wordpress.com/2010/02/22/classic-movie-musicals-part-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Amen! Sadly, though, the only film on this list I’ve seen is Singin’ in the Rain. I wrote a review for it after watching it a second time.

    Shockingly, I hated it at first, but that was simply because I took everything seriously, and didn’t realize it was a satire. But once I understood that, I understood its brilliance.


Leave a comment